Why are Canadians upset with Trump’s ban uphold from the Supreme Court?

The US Supreme Court has upheld a ban by President Donald Trump on travel to the US from seven countries: North Korea, Syria, Iran, Yemen, Libya, Somalia and Venezuela.


Even though the left in USA is criticizing this move by President Trump, is nothing new to the US foreign policy.

What’s more surprising is that Canadians are extremely worried about this ban and been critisizing the foreign policy of a foreign country.

But let’s take a look at the Canadian policy regarding these countries under the Trump administration ban.

North Korea

On August 11, 2011, Canada imposed sanctions against the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea (DPRK), under the Special Economic Measures Act. These sanctions are in addition to existing sanctions passed under the United Nations Act. The Special Economic Measures (DPRK) Regulations were adopted to reinforce the message to the DPRK government that its aggressive actions, such as the sinking of the Cheonan, are unacceptable. – Global Affairs Canada.

There is no mention if North Koreans need a visa or not or even if they are allowed to enter Canada.



Citizens of Venezuela need to apply for a visa at the Canadian Embassy or Consulate to visit Canada.

After the presidential elections in Venezuela in May 20, 2018, the government of Canada called the situation a crisis, and announced further sanctions on key figures in the Maduro regime.

Under the Special Economic Measures Act, the Honourable Chrystia Freeland, Minister of Foreign Affairs, is today announcing targeted sanctions against an additional 14 individuals responsible for the deterioration of democracy in Venezuela. The measures are consistent with Canadian principles and values and aim to maintain pressure on the Venezuelan government to restore constitutional democracy and respect for democratic and human rights.

“These sanctions send a clear message that the Maduro regime’s anti-democratic behaviour has consequences. Today’s announcement is evidence of our commitment to defending democracy and human rights around the world and our rejection of Venezuela’s fraudulent presidential elections. Canada is as determined as ever to support the people of Venezuela as they seek a more peaceful, democratic and prosperous future.”

– Hon. Chrystia Freeland, P.C., M.P., Minister of Foreign Affairs



Syrian citizens travellers need a visa to come to Canada by any method of travel.

On July 6, 2012, Canada expanded its targeted sanctions by prohibiting the export, sale, supply or shipping to Syria of a number of goods that can be used for internal repression as well as in the production of chemical and biological weapons. The new measures also imposed an assets freeze and dealings prohibition on two additional entities associated with the Assad regime.

On August 31, 2012, Canada froze the assets of additional individuals and entities associated with the Syrian government.

On November 28, 2012, Canada froze the assets of additional individuals and entities associated with the Syrian government.

On April 13, 2017, Canada froze the assets of additional individuals associated with the Syrian government.

On April 20, 2017, Canada froze the assets of additional individuals and entities associated with the Syrian government.



Libyan citizens need a visa to come to Canada by any method of travel.

On March 19, 2014, the United Nations Security Council, acting under Chapter VII of the Charter of the United Nations, adopted Resolution 2146 (2014), which prohibited port entry, bunkering, and financial services for designated vessels transporting illicit oil from Libya. This prohibition was expanded with the adoption of Resolution 2362 (2017) on June 29, 2017 to apply to any designated vessel loading, transporting, or discharging  petroleum, including crude oil – and for the first time – refined petroleum products, illicitly exported or attempted to be exported from Libya. These measures reflected the concern of the international community that the widespread illicit export of Libyan petroleum undermined the Libyan Government of National Accord (GNA), and posed a threat to the peace, security and stability of Libya.

These changes have been implemented in Canada in the form of amendments to the existing Regulations.


In July 2014, Canada closed its Embassy in Libya due to violence and insecurity, and has temporarily relocated its operations to Tunisia. This measure is not permanent and has no affiliation with our long-standing diplomatic relations with Libya. We will return to Tripoli when a secure and stable environment has been restored.



Travellers holding Iranian passports need a visa to come to Canada by any method of travel.

A reciprocal diplomatic presence was maintained until September 2012, when Canada closed its embassy in Tehran and expelled Iranian diplomats from Ottawa for various reasons, including Iran’s non-compliance with United Nations Security Council resolutions regarding its nuclear program and Iran’s regional policies. Since then, Italy has been Canada’s Protective Power in Iran. In 2012, Canada listed Iran as a state supporter of terrorism under the State Immunity Act and also listed the Islamic Revolutionary Guards Corps – Qods Force as a terrorist entity under the Criminal Code.


Up to this date there is no Canadian Embassy in Iran.


Travellers holding Yemeni passports need a visa to come to Canada by any method of travel.


Travellers holding Somalian passports need a visa to come to Canada by any method of travel.

Canada has minimal trade relations with Somalia due to the continuing conflict and high costs of doing business. In 2013, two-way merchandise trade stood at $900 000. Canada’s top exports to Somalia in 2013 consisted of machinery and vehicles. Canada’s imports from Somalia in 2013 were negligible.

On June 15, 2014, Canada’s then Ambassador-designate to Somalia, David Angell, presented his Letters of Credence to Somali President Hassan Sheikh Mohamud. This makes him the first accredited Canadian Ambassador to Somalia in 24 years. Ambassador Angell works from the Canadian High Commission in Nairobi, Kenya, with periodic travel to Somalia.

Starting July 31, 2018, all people travelling to Canada  if they are from Europe, the Middle East or Africa, will need to give fingerprints and photo (biometrics) when you apply for a visitor visa. – Immigration and Citizenship Canada